Organized Sports at 2 years old…

Well, organized might be a stretch…

Carter started Mikro soccer today. He is supposed to be 3 years old but he is 2.5 and when I called to ask if he could play they said he just needed to be able to follow directions. I figured, on a good day that is possible so let’s give it a shot.

Size 3 ball in hand we showed up. I had dinners packed to keep his sister at bay.

It was chaos! Right from the get go there were kids falling apart, crying everywhere! I prayed he was not one of them…and he was not. My little 2.5 year old was a champ. Then two kids fell while dribbling the ball, and they cried. Then you see a parent scoop up his kid…another kid won’t get out of the net the whole time…he’s like a dolphin caught in a tuna net.

Then the parents…oh where do I start with them. HELICOPTER!!!! And the complete opposite, talking on the phone, blah blah blah…soccer dad muttering beneath his breath…”They KNOW how to RUN! Why is she making them run? This is soccer, teach them SOCCER!”

Then there is the kid who just took off and played in the stream the whole time.

My boy had a few moments of distraction…like when the landscaping tractor for the city drove by THREE times…come on, that is like crack for my boy…any type of heavy machinery transportation. We diverted him pretty well, but I did get it on tape.

All in all, I was really PROUD!

Leave a Reply

