“Good Hair”

Oh how I wish everyone would see “Good Hair” the hair documentary by Chris Rock of all people. Well done and super interesting. I have been reading about african american hair a lot these past two years and it has been a huge area of contention in our home. We still have some contact with Birthmom who has all these notions on what black hair needs and doesn’t need. And really what it all boils down to is that it is a giant crock of you know what. I have posted about this before in my post My Daughter Came Home All Ghetto. But much of what is assumed that black hair needs is really more of a cultural, traditional and folklore “need”…black hair really does not need anything differently than any other type of hair. In fact, there is no such thing as “black hair” there are colors of hair and textures of hair…and they need to be treated as so…

The documentary “Good Hair” was just the icing on the cake for me. You have to see it!

One Response

  1. Hello! Came across your blog from a comment you left on the “rage against the minivan” blog. One of my good friends just came out to me a month ago, and we talked about the possibility of her adopting children (she mentioned she would never be able to get married or have kids). I’m glad I stumbled upon your blog! Children deserve loving parents, and to be raised in a home that is safe and nurturing and protective. I hope my friend decides to adopt one day.

    I saw “Good Hair” and couldn’t BELIEVE the chemicals they were putting in little girls’ hair!! It’s one thing if a grown woman decides to use those chemicals, but I would never subject a child to the possibility of a chemical burn like that. Yikes!

Leave a Reply

