Turning water into “wine”

In our crazy little way we try our best to not flat out say “no” to our kids, we try to explain why. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not that I think my kids should be able to do ANYTHING they want, I just want to try the cerebral/consequences approach first. I may ditch it all together, but so far it’s working out alright…well, at least until last night.

So we are having dinner and Mama is drinking wine and Ina (other Mama) is drinking wine and lo and behold, Carter wants wine. I think, ok….I’ll give him a sip, he will think it tastes horrible and that will be the end of that….RIGHT? Come on! You know it is more rational than saying, “No, that’s a grown up drink.”, “Mama can have it but you cannot.” That makes NO sense to a kid…but if it tastes like crap, they won’t want it. Well, HE LIKED IT. FOILED! FOILED! Now what the heck am I supposed to do? I hold a Masters Degree people, I’m no schlep! I’m certainly not going to let him drink wine…I mean, this is the kid who won’t even drink grape juice…straight up milk man…what are the odds he would like wine?

So, I grab the Ikea kids kitchen set wine glasses…and gave them both water in them…you gotta admit…it’s pretty funny to look at! AND he didn’t ask for any more of our wine. Which is good because we did not want to share anyway!

Come on! You know it's funny!

One Response

Leave a Reply

