I’m still alive and the pity party is almost over…

Ugh, I have been the world’s worst blogger. You would think that since I have been virtually laid up for the past two months I would be blog blog blogging like crazy, that I would have read at least one book…no nothin’! I have been working, I only missed two weeks of work and now work from home, so the commute in the morning from my bed to the desk is 30 seconds and I don’t have to warm up a car…so that’s nice.
Ugh, car…I still need to buy a car. Who has the time? The energy? The money? For sure I am not buying one until we get back from California for the holidays. I cannot wait to get out of Dodge. The fear of slipping and falling on ice and breaking something is paralyzing.

Good news, I can walk with a cane and have actually started walking around the house without anything. It’s not pretty and I am walking with a big limp…but it is a step in the right direction. I have PT twice a week and that seems to be going ok.

It’s another holiday season and again I feel like a shitty mom. I need to get this frickin family in order so we can start these traditions. I feel like every year comes around and we have something that interferes with us having Traditions. I did manage to make a brisket and latkes (from scratch!) last friday for the Sabbath and the first night of Hanukkah. That felt good. I bought this great wooden children’s menorah set for the kids probably before they were born, so they have been putting the little wooden candles and flames in each night. We have not yet had a tree. I put up a little table top tree and the kids love it but I am just not up for the constant battle of telling them to keep their hands off the tree the whole time it would be up. Plus we usually go to California at the end of the year for two weeks so it just seems like a waste. I really cannot wait to move to California so we will just stay put, hunker down and enjoy the damn holidays at home. Not to mention be warm all year round.

The kids school pictures came and they are adorable. I have no idea when Zoe grew into a toddler. She learned to walk and crawl all in the same year. That is crazy. There are times when Carter is doing something, like laying on the bed with his hands folded behind his head watching tv, and he looks so old. I sometimes get a glimpse of what he will look like as a teenager. I remember being so frustrated and tired when he was a baby, or when Z was a baby and thinking, “God, I can’t wait until they can walk…etc” and now I get so sad sometimes that they are no longer “babies”…so fast they grow.

I have made some really good chili, some kick ass meat loaf (Staci said it is likely the best meat loaf she’s ever had) and I hope to bake some goodies this week. And I can get to the basement to do laundry now, I just cannot carry it upstairs when it’s done. So I am able to do things and that has made me feel much better. I still cannot really lift or carry the kids. I can hold them when I am sitting, thank goodness.

So there, I think that about catches me up…hopefully I can blog more often.

Leave a Reply

