Friday, October 16th changed my life

I left work friday, October 16th, 2009 at about 3:15 pm, the plan was I would go to the market, get things to make a veggie stir fry, cook it and then run and Pick Up Carter from day care all while Staci, Grandma and Zoe shopped for last minute things at Costo for the joint birthday party for Carter and Zoe.

While I was at the stoplight, I noticed a car in the oncoming traffic that was going totally fast while everyone else was stopped at the red light. Well, this white car came blazing past the oncoming cars stopped at the red light, went over the medium, took down the traffic light, crossed into the other lane (the lane i would drive into when the light turned green…I waited to see if it was going to keep drifting right on the other other street or come at me…turns out he straightened it out and was coming for me…there was a car to my left because we were at a stop light. I tried to back up a little (I think) and then drive to the left to get out of his way…but the next thing I knew, he slammed into me…the impact came, the airbag deployed…I screamed “Fu&*, Fu&*, FU&*!” and slammed my hands on the steering wheel, so pissed…my left breast burned, I patted it thinking I was on fire…I then went to move and felt instant pain in my left leg. It was shaking, bouncing, almost dangling, I held it at the hip screaming! I opened my door and screamed, over and over…I found my cell phone (which I always have in my pocket since I saw the Onstar commercial that shows the cell phone flying through the air in a crash) mine was charging so I just had to pull on the cord. I called my partner Staci first leaving a message saying I was in an accident and my leg was messed up and I can’t get Carter and Hunter (my dog) is in the car and not responding to me calling his name. I then called Lisa, my coworker, who I thought was the closest to come get Hunter and take him to the vet…I let someone else call 911. I didn’t know if I was going to pass out and needed to make sure Staci knew and Hunter was going to be ok. I told the EMT’s that my dog was in back and not to open the door or let him out, that is is old and blind and prob scared…Hunter finally popped up for a second and then laid back down…at least I knew he was alive.

I could not feel my leg from the knee down and it just kept doing weird bobbing motions. I kept trying to convince myself that if I only lost my leg at least I was still alive. My breast really hurt. It felt like forever…I kept yelling, it was a white car, did you see it? To which I learned it ended up on the other side of the intersection, I told them not to let them get away. When the EMT’s came they said I had to wait for a second ambulance as the first was with the other car…I got pissed and said, “F them, they’re drunk, they hit me, take care of me first” to which the EMT said, “Hey, now, they are elderly and in bad shape, I don’t think alcohol is involved here.”

I had to help them get me out of the car, by doing a lot of scootching, etc…it was painful and I could not stop shivering. The ambulance ride was horrible, all of it is a control freaks worst nightmare…and I am definately a control freak. The C collar was hurting me so bad, at one point, I wasn’t sure which hurt worse the C collar or the leg. Xrays confirmed I had a tibia and fib fracture that would require surgery. I had surgery on monday and have been slowly recovering since…it is the most painful thing I have ever felt (way more painful than a torn ACL, which was pretty damn painful).

They say one of the people in the other car may have died…I still dont have the accident report so I do not know if they even have insurance. I am still so angry, SO ANGRY! I was just going about my life, my business, not talking on the phone while driving, or being unattentive, nothing…and this guy came and altered my life so severely for the next how many months to a year…I missed my daughters 1 year bday party, my sons 2 year bday party…Halloween I doubt I can go on because how can we push a wheelchair and take both kids out?

My partner doesnt do well in stress, so she is already stressed out having to do everything by herself…getting them ready in the morning, getting them dinner and bath and bedtime in the evening. So things are going to be so stressful. I cannot pick up my children, I cannot carry them…I cannot drive…

I am so angry, yet lucky…

Two Years Ago Today

While I was in the Mac Store, two years ago today, I was being called repeatedly by my partner Staci. When I got to my car and checked my phone I had all these voicemails from Staci, frantically wanting me to call her. It turned out they had a baby boy for us who was born on the 21st and could go home on the 23rd, blah blah bah did we want him? I said, say no more, call them back and tell them we want him. We rushed to Tar*get to get the last minute supplies, age appropriate and sex appropriate things. The next day, at 11:00 am a car pulled up and like a pizza delivery we got our son…there was 10 minutes of paperwork and then she was gone…and we stood white in the face, holding our son…wow! The minute I held him I loved him…two years later he is a big boy 2 year old and officially adopted by us.

He is adored and amazing.