Feed the Kids Program

So last night I was watching the nightly news and saw the reminder that the summer Feed the Kids lunch program would be starting and to call 211 for a listing of areas where the lunch is served. This morning as I drove to work I saw the orange signs in the grass at a local school saying, "Summer Lunch Program Site"…I cried. Motherhood has made me cry at so many things, and it's not hormonal, I didn't bear children. I think I am going to volunteer to help put the lunches together. It makes me so sad to think that thousands of children will be hungry now that school is out…it's a big problem in our community. During Halloween, we get so many kids from the inner city that come to our neighborhood, some say it is because they know we are well off…I say, it's because it is not safe to trick or treat in their neighborhoods…and I make sure all my treats are nutritious snacks (granola bars, fruit snacks, goldfish crackers, pretzels) and I have pencils and erasers, and playdough for the tiny kids too small for snacks and pencils. You would think I was giving away bars of gold…these kids get so excited about a pencil. And it tugs at my heartstrings…as does this lunch program. I need to find some time to volunteer for this. 

Leave a Reply

